David Gardner

David begann seine Karriere in der Computerbranche im Alter von 13 Jahren, als er seine Ersparnisse vom Zeitungsaustragen verwendete, um 1978 einen Apple II Computer zu kaufen.

7+1

Founders Keepers

7+1 Fragen

Ein Interview von

Torsten Oppermann

bio

David begann seine Karriere in der Computerbranche im Alter von 13 Jahren, als er seine Ersparnisse vom Zeitungsaustragen verwendete, um 1978 einen Apple II Computer zu kaufen. Sofort davon überzeugt, seine Berufung gefunden zu haben, beendete er seine Highschool-Ausbildung zwei Jahre früher und begann zu programmieren und Vollzeit als Computerverkäufer und Installationstechniker zu arbeiten.

Kurz nachdem er 1981 als Berater für die neue Heimcomputerabteilung von Atari tätig war, traf er Trip Hawkins, der gerade dabei war, Electronic Arts zu gründen. EA war ein klassisches Silicon-Valley-Startup, das von Sequoia, Kleiner Perkins und Sevin Rosen finanziert wurde. David trat 1982 als 11. Mitarbeiter in das Startup-Team hinter EA ein und gründete 1986 die europäische Geschäftseinheit, die er ab 1995 leitete und auf einen Bruttoumsatz von $1B und 1.200 Mitarbeiter ausbaute. Nach dem europäischen Erfolg wurde David 2004 Teil des globalen Management-Teams mit Sitz in Kalifornien. Sein erweiterter Verantwortungsbereich umfasste das internationale Wachstum in Asien und er war für fast die Hälfte des Jahresumsatzes des Unternehmens verantwortlich, als er 2007 das Unternehmen verließ, um mit seiner Familie nach Europa zurückzukehren.

David wurde CEO von Atari S.A., um sich einen Kindheitstraum zu erfüllen: den berühmtesten Namen für Computerspiele zu führen. Das Ziel des Turnarounds war der erfolgreiche Verkauf der physischen Vertriebsgesellschaft von Atari, die Privatisierung der öffentlichen US-Einheit und der Kauf der Cryptic Studios, die den Großteil des Unternehmensumsatzes und der F&E-Ausgaben in die neue digitale Wirtschaft brachten. David ist ein aktiver Privatpilot. Im Jahr 2007 wurde er auf der Her Majesty’s Birthday Honours List für seine Verdienste um die britische Wirtschaft mit einem OBE ausgezeichnet und ist Vizepräsident für Spiele bei der BAFTA.

1

Du bist ja nun schon einige Zeit in der Games-Branche, hast viele Trends kommen und gehen sehen. Zu den Anfangszeiten und heute: Was hat sich am positivsten verändert in der Branche, und was stört Dich an der heutigen Situation?

Auf einer sehr hohen Ebene ist die aufregendste Veränderung die Erweiterung des Publikums. Wir haben jetzt mehr Menschen, die mehr Spiele spielen, in mehr Ländern und auf mehr Geräten als jemals zuvor. Das Verhältnis von männlichen und weiblichen Spielern nähert sich dem weltweiten Durchschnitt an. Alles großartige Neuigkeiten! Diese Neugewichtung und Beschleunigung sollte sich fortsetzen, da wir mehr Vielfalt an Inhalten sehen, die jeden Verbrauchergeschmack ansprechen. Auf der negativen Seite bin ich beunruhigt darüber, wie unzivilisiert Spieler miteinander umgehen können. In zu vielen Fällen ist es von einer spielerischen Herausforderung zu einem beleidigenden, aggressiven Verhalten übergegangen. Ich habe Statistiken gesehen, die zeigen, dass dieser Trend Menschen in die Selbstverletzung und Depression getrieben hat. Das ist wirklich nicht das, woran wir alle gedacht haben, als wir in den 1970er Jahren unsere erste Partie Atari Pong spielten!

2

Welche Key Learnings im Bereich Marketing können andere Branchen aus der Games-Branche ziehen?

Gaming hat sich zu einer Gemeinschaftsleistung entwickelt.  Das gemeinsame Entwickeln von Inhalten, das Teilen von Aufgaben wie das Besiegen eines Endgegners, das Teilen von lustigen Momenten mit einer breiten Zuschauerschaft – all diese Dinge zeigen, dass Gaming mehr ist als ein einzelner Moment oder eine vorübergehende Aktivität – es hat sich zu einer Gemeinschaft und einem Lifestyle entwickelt.  Das ist ein starkes Element für das Marketing in der Gaming-Welt und es ist eine starke Brücke zu anderen Branchen.

3

Wer sind Deine Vorbilder in der Branche? Gibt es da jemanden? Und wenn, warum?

Ich hatte im Laufe meiner Branchenkarriere eine Reihe von Vorbildern. Das erste wäre sicherlich Trip Hawkins, der EA, 3D0 und Digital Chocolate gegründet hat.  Er war der erste echte „Silicon Valley“-Unternehmer, den ich kennengelernt habe.  Trip war unglaublich in seinem Verständnis des Marktes und wie er das Team überzeugen konnte, alles zu geben, um zu gewinnen.  Er ist eine charismatische und spannende Person.  Ein aktuelleres Beispiel wäre das Führungsteam von Supercell.  Es ist einfach, Ilkka Paananen zu erwähnen, aber ehrlich gesagt steckt das in der gesamten Führung des Unternehmens.  Ich habe von ihnen Bescheidenheit gelernt, ein stilles Streben nach Exzellenz, die Kraft des Klein-Seins und absolute Fokussierung.

4

Wie haben sich die Marketing-Maßnahmen und -Kanäle in den letzten Jahren gewandelt? Wo geht es hin im Bereich Games-Marketing?

Ich nehme an, es gibt den erwarteten Einsatz von groß angelegten, breitgestreuten Kampagnen wie z.B. groß budgetierte Fernsehwerbung.  Aber interessanter ist die Nutzung der Community, um Ideen zu verbreiten.  Sehr laserfokussierte Akquise von Nutzern basierend auf dem Ausgabeverhalten, der Start von Apex Legends über Influencer und der neueste Trend, im Grunde „die Community als König“ zu sehen.  Räume wie Discord und Videoinhalte auf Twitch und YouTube schaffen einen neuen Ort für Spieler, um von anderen zu lernen.

5

Welche Social-Media-Kanäle sind für Euch als Unternehmung im Fokus?

Ich würde sagen, für den Core-Gamer ist es wahrscheinlich die Kommunikation und das Kommentieren auf Steam und Discord.  Für das Massenpublikum ist es die Entdeckung von Inhalten an Orten wie Bunch oder Youtube.

6

Stichwort Creator- und Influencer-Marketing: Der Trend zu mehr Micro- und Makro-Influencern mit geringerer Reichweite und weniger Fans, dafür aber mehr Authentizität und Engagement: Wie kann die Games-Branche davon profitieren aus Deiner Sicht?

Ich stimme dem Trend, den du in der Frage aufgreifst, zu. Ich glaube, dass wir eine Art von Tool sehen werden, mit denen Marketer den „Long Tail“ der Influencer erreichen können.  Aber kurzfristig denke ich, dass es darum gehen wird, die Community zu engagieren, um das Wort zu verbreiten und Agenturen und andere Experten zu nutzen, um das Messaging durch die Tausende von Influencern zu organisieren, die den Spaß am Spielen teilen.

7

Die Medienlandschaft hat sich in den letzten zehn Jahren massiv verändert. Immer noch ist aber PR eines der wichtigsten Kommunikations-Instrumente für den Bereich Games. Wo siehst Du die PR in den nächsten fünf Jahren, was werden die Herausforderungen?

Ich denke, das Schwierigste ist ehrlich gesagt, herauszufinden, wem man folgt und wem man vertraut.  Jeder kann jetzt ein Sprecher sein.  Die Werkzeuge für die Übertragung sind völlig offen und daher kann jeder, mit jeder Agenda, an jeden senden.  Es ist also eine Herausforderung, Ehrlichkeit, Authentizität und Schutz zu gewährleisten.  Aus der Sicht des Verbrauchers denke ich, dass die Logik einer „Marke“ – oder eine Abkürzung zu einer Reihe von Werten – immer wichtiger werden wird, um Informationen in all dem Lärm zu organisieren und zu sehen!

+1

Bonusfrage: Auf welches Projekt / Thema in Deinem Job warst Du besonders stolz?

Ich liebte den kulturellen Teil, die Unternehmenswerte über alle Teams und Länder hinweg zu teilen.  Ich denke, es macht so viel Spaß zu sehen, wie ein Team Erfolg hat, tolles Feedback von der Community bekommt und liebt, was es tut.  Es funktioniert wirklich, wenn die Umgebung einen lohnenden Ort bietet, an dem man seine beste Arbeit leisten kann!

Founders Keepers

Alles über Marketing in Games und Tech.

Highlights und Insights

von Tech- und Gaming-Leadern aus aller Welt

Trip

Hawkins

Trip Hawkins, Gründer und erster CEO von Electronic Arts (EA), fand schon früh Anerkennung in der Geschäftswelt und wurde in allen wichtigen Medien erwähnt. 

Mehr

David Perry

Perry begann in Nordirland mit der Arbeit am Sinclair ZX81 (Anfang der 1980er Jahre), zog nach der High School nach England und landete mit Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles einen #1 Hit. 

Mehr

Carolien Miller

Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin von Indigo Pearl, einer preisgekrönten PR- und Asset-Management-Agentur, die sich auf Videospiele spezialisiert hat.
Caroline gründete Indigo Pearl im Jahr 2000 und arbeitete zuvor intern in der Spieleindustrie.

Mehr

Boris Schneider-Johne

Boris Schneider-Johne, Jahrgang 1966, hat ab Mitte der Achtziger Jahre in diversen Computerzeitschriften und als Übersetzer diverser Computerspiele ins Deutsche die frühen Jahre der Gameskultur in Deutschland mitgestaltet. 

Mehr

David Gardner

David begann seine Karriere in der Computerbranche im Alter von 13 Jahren, als er seine Ersparnisse vom Zeitungsaustragen verwendete, um 1978 einen Apple II Computer zu kaufen.

Mehr

Thomas Mey

Mein Name ist Thomas Mey. Ich verdiene seit Abschluss meiner Lehre als Elektromonteur meine Brötchen im Handel. Das ist nun gut 30 Jahre her. Als ich im Handel angefangen habe, expandierten alle großen Handelsketten in die neuen Bundesländer. 

Mehr

Michel Wedler

Langjährige Führungskraft und Experte für Einkauf & Produktmanagement und Vertrieb im Retail für Entertainmentprodukte speziell in den Bereichen Musik, Film, Games, Konsolen, Zubehör, Merchandise und Toys. 

Mehr

Oliver

Menne

Oliver Menne startete in die Games-Branche Ende der 80er, zur Zeit des Commodore 64.

Mehr

Hans

Ippisch

Hans Ippischs berufliche Laufbahn begann 1986, als er im Alter von 16 Jahren seine ersten Vertrag als Spieleentwickler bei Rainbow Arts unterschrieb.

Mehr

Volker Prott


Volker Prott, Marketing- und Media-Professional. Beruflich hat es Volker nach seinem Studium der Medienökonomie zuerst in die Media-Agenturwelt verschlagen, im Anschluss wechselte er zu Electronic Arts (EA) in die Bereiche Media und Marketing. 

Mehr

Mike Steup

Mike hat 25 Jahre Erfahrung in den Bereichen Management, Vertrieb & Marketing und Produktentwicklung. Er ist Visionär und Gründer der snakebyte|GROUP, einem Unternehmen mit Niederlassungen in Deutschland, UK, Hong Kong, China und den USA. 

Mehr

Bevor es losgeht

Wir verwenden Cookies, um die korrekte Funktionsweise unserer Website zu gewährleisten und um die Benutzerfreundlichkeit zu verbessern. Detaillierte Informationen hierzu finden Sie in unseren Datenschutzhinweisen"

Show Cookies

David Gardner

“There are very few people on the globe who have been in the games industry as long as David Gardner. His executive roles include working for Electronic Arts and Atari. Now he is with London Venture Partners. I was a Product Manager for EA in 1991 when I met David for the first time. Today, he is one of the most successful Investors in the field.”

7+1

Founders Keepers

7+1 Questions

interviewed by

Torsten Oppermann

bio

David started his career in computers at the age of 13 when he used his paper route savings to purchase an Apple II computer in 1978. Immediately convinced he had found his professional calling, he completed his high school education 2 years early and started programming and working full time as a computer salesman and installation engineer. Soon after consulting for Atari’s new home computer division in 1981 he met Trip Hawkins who was starting Electronic Arts.

EA was a classic Silicon Valley startup funded by Sequoia, Kleiner Perkins and Sevin Rosen. David joined the startup team behind EA as the 11th employee in 1982 and went on to found the European business unit in 1986 and lead the unit from 1995 where he grew it to $1B in gross revenue and 1200 employees. David became part of the global management team based in California in 2004 after the European success. His expanded responsibility included international growth into Asia and he was responsible for nearly half of the company’s annual revenue when he departed in 2007 to return with his family to live in Europe.

David became CEO of Atari S.A. to complete a childhood dream of running the most famous name in computer games. The turnaround objective was marked by the successful sale of Atari’s physical distribution company, the privatization of the US public entity and the purchase of Cryptic studios which delivered the majority of the company revenue and R&D spending into the new digital economy. David is an active private pilot. In 2007 he was awarded an OBE on Her Majesty’s birthday honours list for services to British business and is Vice President of Games for BAFTA.

1

You have been in the games industry for some time. And you have seen many trends come and go. From the beginning of your career to today: What has changed most positively in the industry, and what bothers you about the current situation?

At a very high level the most exciting change is the audience expansion. We now have more people, playing more games, in more countries, on more devices than ever before. The ratio of male/female players is closing in on the planet’s average. All great news! This rebalancing and acceleration should continue as we see more diversity in content that appeals to every consumer taste. On the negative side I’m distressed to see how uncivilized players can be to one another. In too many cases it has moved from playful challenge into offensive, aggressive behavior. I’ve seen statistics that show it has driven people into self-harm and depression. This is really not what we all thought about when we played our first game of Atari Pong in the 1970s!

2

Which key learnings in marketing can other industries draw from the games industry?

Gaming has evolved to a community effort.  Joint content creation, sharing tasks like taking down a boss creature, sharing hilarious moments with a wide viewership audience – all of these things show that gaming is more than a single moment or a temporary activity – it has moved into community and lifestyle.  That’s a powerful element to marketing in the gaming world and it is a powerful bridge to other industries.

3

Who are your role models in the industry?

I’ve had a number of role models over my industry career.  Certainly, the first one would be Trip Hawkins who founded EA, 3D0 and Digital Chocolate.  He was the first real “Silicon Valley” entrepreneur that I met.  Trip was incredible in his understanding of the market and how to convince the team to give everything to win.  He is a charismatic and exciting person.  A more recent example would be the Supercell leadership team.  It is easy to mention Ilkka Paananen but honestly it runs deep in the entire leadership of the company.  I learned from them humility, a quiet search for excellence, the power of being small and being laser focused.

4

How did the marketing and promotion of games change in recent years? Where are we headed in games marketing in the next years to come?

I suppose there is the expected use of large-scale indiscriminate media such as big budget TV ads.  But more interesting has been use of the community to spread the word.  Very laser focused acquisition of users based on spending patterns, the launch of Apex Legends via influencers and the latest trend which basically “the community is king.”  Spaces like Discord and video content on Twitch and YouTube create a new place for players to learn from others.

5

Which social media channels do you see as key for the games industry?

I’d say for the core gamer it is probably reading comments on Steam and Discord.  For the mass audience its discovery on places like Bunch or YouTube.

6

About the current trend on creators and influencer marketing: The trend towards more micro and macro influencers with a smaller reach and less fans, but more authenticity and engagement: How can the Games industry leverage that trend in your opinion?

I agree with the trend you describe in the question. I believe we will see some kind of tools available for marketers to reach “the long tail” of influencers.  But in the short term, I think it will be engaging the community to spread the word and using agencies and other experts to help organize messaging through the thousands of influencers that share the fun in playing games.

7

The media landscape has changed massively in the last ten years. However, PR is still one of the most important communications tools in the games sector. Where do you see PR in the next five years, what will the challenges be?

I think honestly the hardest thing is sifting out who to follow and who you trust.  Anyone can now be a spokesperson.  The tools for broadcast are completely open and therefore anyone, with any agenda can broadcast to anyone.  So, bringing honesty, authenticity and protection is one challenge.  From the consumer’s point of view I think the logic of a “brand” – or a shortcut to a set of values, will be ever more important to be able to organize and see information in all the noise!

+1

Bonus question: Which project / topic in your career are you particularly proud of?

I loved the cultural piece of sharing the company values across all the teams and countries.  I think seeing a team succeed, getting great feedback from the community and loving what they do is so much fun.  It really works when the environment provides a rewarding place to do your best work!

Founders Keepers

All about Marketing in Games and Tech.

Treasures and Insights

from leaders in tech and gaming around the globe

Ingo

Horn

Ingo Horn is founder of Gaming-Aid e.V. and Letsplay4Charity e.V. as well as Communication Director Europe at Wargaming. He began his career as a local newspaper editor.

more

Funda

Yakin

Funda Yakin has been working for agencies, publishers and on the industry side in marketing for nearly 20 years.

more

Michel

Bonetti

Michel Bonetti is product manager at Orange and was active in countless sectors, keeping the business development as a constant point of interest.

more

Petra

Fröhlich

Petra Fröhlich worked as editor-in-chief at PC Games for more than a decade until she eventually founded GamesWirtschaft, her very own news portal about video games.

more

Daniel

Bollers

“Daniel is one of the most successful sales allrounders for consumer electronics. We’ve known each other for over 10 years now and his insights and teachings are always a true source of inspiration for me!”

more

Hendrik Lesser

„I know Hendrik not only as a games industry veteran, but also as a member of the global Entrepreneurs’ Organization to which we both belong. He has built a little empire comprised of game developers. I really appreciate his entrepreneurial spirit.”

more

David Clark

“David and I go way back to the good old times at SEGA. He played a fundamental role in shaping the games business in the UK and has a ton of experience in all areas of marketing. Currently, he is building bridges between Europe and Asia for games publishers.”

more

Thorsten Hamdorf

“I’ve known Thorsten for nearly twenty years and worked closely with him. He is a really knowledgeable marketing man.”

more

Wim Stocks

“Wim is a seasoned executive in the video games industry. I met him when we worked for Atari many moons ago. He is a renowned expert in the interactive entertainment industry.”

more

Tom Dusenberry

“Tom was my boss in the nineties when I worked at Hasbro. He founded the gaming division ‘Hasbro Interactive’ and made a bunch of bold and disruptive decisions. His vision was to become as large as Electronic Arts. Unfortunately, Hasbro sold the gaming division. I bet today it would have been as big as EA.”

more

Maxi Gräff

“I’ve been following Maxis career for some time now, ever since her time at IDG where she worked for GamePro and GameStar. She started playing around with YouTube early on, knows the video games industry inside out and is working for Microsoft since 2015. She’s an advocate for the industry and especially for equal rights. That’s amazing!”

more

Philipp Hartmann

“In the past six years, Phillipp set a lot of things in motion over at Microsoft. He didn’t just support the reconstruction of the brand and the transition of stationary commerce, he shaped it.”

More

Trip Hawkins

“There are very few super entrepreneurs who defined the video game industry from the start. While Nolan Bushnell shaped the hardware, the one and only Trip Hawkins defined the software. He is the founder of Electronic Arts! He made developers rockstars! No more words needed. His career speaks for itself.”

More

David Perry

Perry started in Northern Ireland working on the Sinclair ZX81 (early 1980’s), he moved to England from high school, ending up with a #1 hit for Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles. 

More

Caroline Miller

Founder and Managing Director at Indigo Pearl, an award-winning PR and asset management agency specializing in video games. Caroline founded Indigo Pearl in 2000 and prior to this worked in-house within the games industry. 

More

Boris Schneider-Johne

Boris Schneider-Johne, born in 1966, helped shape the early years of games culture in Germany. He is a true legend.

More

Volker Prott

Volker Prott, a man for marketing and media. After studying media economics, Volker first worked in the world of media agencies and then joined Electronic Arts (EA) in the media and marketing departments.

More

David

Gardner

David started his career in computers at the age of 13 when he used his paper route savings to purchase an Apple II computer in 1978. He was a global leader and shaped EA and Atari, before becoming an investor in the most valuable Gaming companies on this planet.

More

Thomas Mey

My name is Thomas Mey. I have been earning my bread and butter in the trade since completing my apprenticeship as an electrician. That was a good 30 years ago.

More

Michel Wedler

Long-standing executive and expert in purchasing & product management and sales in retail for entertainment products, especially in the areas of music, film, games, consoles, accessories, merchandise, and toys. 

More

Oliver

Menne

Oliver Menne started in the games industry at the end of the 80s, at the time of the Commodore 64. He runs Eurogamer in Germany today.

More

Hans Ippisch

Hans Ippisch’s professional career began in 1986, when he signed his first contract as a game developer at Rainbow Arts at the age of 16. Today, he heads up Intellivision Europe.

More

Mike Steup

Mike has 25 years of experience in management, sales & marketing, and product development. He is the king of peripherals and recently launched an amazing Kids tablet with Disney.

More
Read more!

Before you continue

We use cookies to improve site functionality and to provide you with a better browsing experience. Detailed information on the use of cookies on this site is provided in our privacy policy. You may decline consent or make specific choices by clicking "Show cookies"

Show Cookies